Logo loader Letter loader

The Different Types of Food Safety Certification

The Different Types of Food Safety Certification

A food safety certificate is essential for any business, which is a proof that it adheres to stringent requirements and policies to provide a guarantee that their products are handled effectively and efficiently. It is going to give clients peace of mind, knowing that their money is not going into waste. It can also be an excellent way to promote the business and gain an edge above the competition. With this, keep on reading and we’ll let you know more about the different types of food safety certification that can be given to different businesses. 

HACCP Certification 

Also known as Hazard Analysis and Critical Control Points, it is a system for risk management. It is basically concerned about the identification, evaluation, and control of hazards in food safety all throughout the supply chain. From manufacturing, storage, and distribution, all aspects are checked to make sure that the hazards will be eliminated. With this food safety certificate, an organisation can also be aligned with ISO 22000. 

SQF Certification 

Officially launched in 2004, this food safety certificate is issued by the Safe Quality Food (SQF) Institute. They have a strict program in order to recognise all of the parties involved in food handling from farm to fork, including producers, manufacturers, and distributors, among others. They also have stringent regulations for ethical food sourcing. Generally speaking, certifications can be categorised into three: Food Safety Fundamentals, Certified HACCP Food Safety Plans, and Comprehensive Food Safety and Quality Management Systems. 

ISO 22000 

While this food safety certification is common for businesses in food processing, it can also cover caterers, machinery manufacturers, and storage facilities, among others. The emphasis of the certification includes interactive communication, system management, prerequisite programs, and HACCP principles. It has been developed by the International Organisation for Standardisation and recognised globally, making it helpful for a business in more ways than one. 

BRC Certification 

The British Retail Consortium (BRC) is a leading body that governs retailers not only in the United Kingdom but even all over the world as well. The BRC Certification used to be country-specific, but now, it is recognised all over the world as well. The standards to be given this food safety certificate contain very detailed specifications on hygiene control and processes. A re-auditing is needed after 12 months if the certification awarded is Grade A or B, and 6 months if it is Grade C. 

IFS Certification 

The International Food Standard covers those that are involved in food processing, handling of loose food, and primary packing activities. With this food safety certification, purchasing, production, and marketing benefits can be yielded by an organisation. It is more than just a name that is attached to a brand. Rather, it is proof of satisfying global standards that are relevant to ensure food safety. 

characters remaining
Author avatar avicrjrafj 1 month ago

Muchas gracias. ?Como puedo iniciar sesion?